2013 Nissan Sentra Engine problems, defects and reviews. Updated December 20, 2016

Nissan Sentra Engine problems and reviews: 14.

Are you driving a 2013 Nissan Sentra, or planning to buy one? Review reported Engine problems and defects.

Engine Nissan 2013
Nissan
Location
West Newyork, NJ
Model Sentra
System Engine
Speed 30

The Contact Owns A 2013 nissan sentra. The Contact Stated While Driving Approximately 30 Mph, There Was A Sudden Increase In Engine Rpms As The Vehicle Shook Abnormally And Stalled Without Warning. The Vehicle Was Restarted But The Failure Recurred Multiple Times. The Vehicle Was Taken To A Dealer Multiple Times For A Diagnosis. The Technician Was Unable To Locate A Problem And Stated That The Failures Were Normal. The Manufacturer Was Notified Of The Failure And Did Not Offer Any Further Assistance. The Failure Mileage Was 3,700.

0 person(s) were injured. 0 person(s) died. Mileage was 3700 miles. Vehicle Identification Number (VIN):3N1AB7AP1DL. Nissan Sentra 2013 problem was reported in WEST NEWYORK, NJ. Vehicle was not using ANTI-LOCK BRAKES. Vehicle was not using Cruise Control. VEHICLE SPEED: 30 mph.

Oct 24, 2014

Engine Nissan 2013
Nissan
Location
Laredo, TX
Model Sentra
System Engine
Speed 60

Vehicle Turns Off By Itself While Driving, Transmission Needs To Be Replaced,and A Lot Of Issues With The Engine. *tr

0 person(s) were injured. 0 person(s) died. Mileage was 31000 miles. Vehicle Identification Number (VIN):3N1AB7AP8DL. Nissan Sentra 2013 problem was reported in LAREDO, TX. Vehicle was not using ANTI-LOCK BRAKES. Vehicle was not using Cruise Control. Vehicle had 4 CYLINDERS. Nissan Sentra 2013 drive type:FWD. VEHICLE SPEED: 60 mph.

Nov 24, 2014

Engine Nissan 2013
Nissan
Location
Detroit, MI
Model Sentra
System Engine
Speed 65

The Contact Owns A 2013 nissan sentra. While Driving Approximately 65 Mph, The Vehicle Stalled. In Addition, The Vehicle Failed To Accelerate Without Warning. The Vehicle Was Not Diagnosed Or Repaired. The Manufacturer Was Notified Of The Failure. The Failure Mileage Was 65.

0 person(s) were injured. 0 person(s) died. Mileage was 65 miles. Vehicle Identification Number (VIN):3N1AB7AP1DL. Nissan Sentra 2013 problem was reported in DETROIT, MI. Vehicle was not using ANTI-LOCK BRAKES. Vehicle was not using Cruise Control. VEHICLE SPEED: 65 mph.

Nov 15, 2014

Engine Nissan 2013
Nissan
Location
Twentynine Palms, CA
Model Sentra
System Engine
Speed 65

My Wife Was Driving On Interstate 15 As We Left San Diego, California. In The Car Was My Adult Daughter And My Two Granddaughters, Ages 1 1/2 And 10 Months. I Was Ahead Of Her In Our nissan Pathfinder. She Called My Phone And Said That The Car Rpm’s Were Fluctuating And That The Car Wasn’t Going To Make It Home To Twentynine Palms. We Pulled Off The Freeway In Escondido. I Checked The sentra And Found That In Idle And Park That The Engine Ran Fine. When I Drove The Car, It Was Lurching Like The Transmission Wasn’t Shifting Correctly. After Checking The Engine Compartment, I Drove To A Well Lite Parking Lot And While The Family Ate, I Called Aaa And Had The sentra Towed To Mossy nissan Of Escondido. On Monday The 22nd, My Wife Called Mossy nissan And Told Them What Happened. They Called Her Back Saying That It Wasn’t The Transmission, That A Sensor Had Been Taken Off Of The Manifold By Her Husband Or Our Mechanic. She Assured Them That Since The Car Was Only 13 Months Old And Under Warranty, No Mechanic Had Worked On The Car And That I Had Only Done The Oil Changes, But Had Not Worked On The Engine. Mossy nissan Said That They Would Not Honor The Warranty Since The Sensor In The Manifold Was Removed. I Called Mossy nissan And Told Them That I Had Not Worked On The Engine, That No Mechanic Had Worked On The Engine And That The Sensor Had To Have Fallen Off The Car While My Wife Was Driving It On The Freeway. They Referred Me To nissan Usa, Which Said The Same Thing; That Since The Sensor Was Missing, They Had Nothing To Turn In For Warranty, So They Would Not Honor The Warranty. The Price To Repair The Car Was Over $700, As They Said I Needed A Complete Manifold With The Sensor Attached. After Repeated Calls, Mossy Now Said That My Car Will Be Repaired By 1/17/15 And The Price Will Be Under $500 Because I Had To Wait For A Part From The Factory. *tr

0 person(s) were injured. 0 person(s) died. Mileage was 34000 miles. Vehicle Identification Number (VIN):3N1AB7AP8DL. Nissan Sentra 2013 problem was reported in TWENTYNINE PALMS, CA. Vehicle was not using ANTI-LOCK BRAKES. Vehicle was not using Cruise Control. VEHICLE SPEED: 65 mph.

Dec 20, 2014

Engine Nissan 2013
Nissan
Location
Twentynine Palms, CA
Model Sentra
System Engine
Speed 65

I Previously Filed Complaint, But Was Now Told By The Dealership That After The Manifold Was Replaced, That The Transmission Also Needed To Be Replaced. More Waiting Time, More Unanswered Phone Calls, More Poor Service From The Dealership. The sentra Broke Down On 12/20/14 And I’ll Finally Be Able To Pick Up My Car On 1/24/15. Nhtsa Id Number: 10672846 Summary: My Wife Was Driving On Interstate 15 As We Left San Diego, California. In The Car Was My Adult Daughter And My Two Granddaughters, Ages 1 1/2 And 10 Months. I Was Ahead Of Her In Our nissan Pathfinder. She Called My Phone And Said That The Car Rpm’s Were Fluctuating And That The Car Wasn’t Going To Make It Home To Twentynine Palms. We Pulled Off The Freeway In Escondido. I Checked The sentra And Found That In Idle And Park That The Engine Ran Fine. When I Drove The Car, It Was Lurching Like The Transmission Wasn’t Shifting Correctly. After Checking The Engine Compartment, I Drove To A Well Lite Parking Lot And While The Family Ate, I Called Aaa And Had The sentra Towed To Mossy nissan Of Escondido. On Monday The 22nd, My Wife Called Mossy nissan And Told Them What Happened. They Called Her Back Saying That It Wasn’t The Transmission, That A Sensor Had Been Taken Off Of The Manifold By Her Husband Or Our Mechanic. She Assured Them That Since The Car Was Only 13 Months Old And Under Warranty, No Mechanic Had Worked On The Car And That I Had Only Done The Oil Changes, But Had Not Worked On The Engine. Mossy nissan Said That They Would Not Honor The Warranty Since The Sensor In The Manifold Was Removed. They Referred Me To nissan Usa, Which Said The Same Thing; That Since The Sensor Was Missing, They Had Nothing To Turn In For Warranty, So They Would Not Honor The Warranty. *tr

0 person(s) were injured. 0 person(s) died. Mileage was 34000 miles. Vehicle Identification Number (VIN):3N1AB7AP8DL. Nissan Sentra 2013 problem was reported in TWENTYNINE PALMS, CA. Vehicle was not using ANTI-LOCK BRAKES. Vehicle was not using Cruise Control. Vehicle had 4 CYLINDERS. Nissan Sentra 2013 drive type:FWD. VEHICLE SPEED: 65 mph.

Dec 20, 2014

Engine Nissan 2013
Nissan
Location
Houston, TX
Model Sentra
System Engine
Speed 45

The Contact Owned A 2013 nissan sentra. While Driving At 45 Mph, The Vehicle Veered Off The Road And Crashed Into A Ditch. The Vehicle Burst Into Flames And Was Destroyed. The Driver Sustained Fatal Injuries. A Police Report Was Filed. The Manufacturer Was Notified Of The Failure. The Failure Mileage Was 33,000.

Vehicle was involved in a crash. Vehicle was on fire. 1 person(s) were injured. 1 person(s) died. Mileage was 33000 miles. Vehicle Identification Number (VIN):3N1AB7AP8DL. Nissan Sentra 2013 problem was reported in HOUSTON, TX. Accident was reported to Police. Vehicle was not using ANTI-LOCK BRAKES. Vehicle was not using Cruise Control. VEHICLE SPEED: 45 mph.

Feb 22, 2015

Engine Nissan 2013
Nissan
Location
East Bernstadt, KY
Model Sentra
System Engine
Speed

After Attempting To Accelerate From Stop At A Stop Sign, The sentra Would Not Accelerate Higher Than About 10 Mph. I Pushed The Gas Pedal To The Floor, And Still No Acceleration. After A Minute Or So, It Went Back To Normal. Over The Course Of An Hour Long Drive, This Happened At Least 5 Times. Abs Indicator Also Came On When Pushing The Brake. Vdc And Slip Lights Came On And Stayed On For About Half An Hour. It Will Perform Normally For A Day Or Two. Then Start Malfunctioned At Random. Two Attempts Have Been Made At The Dealership To Fix It According To Diagnostic Test Which Indicated The “brake Switch Code”. Brake Switch Replaced And Vehicle Performed Normally For Two Days The Performed Worse Than Before Part Was Changed. *tr

0 person(s) were injured. 0 person(s) died. Mileage was 48250 miles. Nissan Sentra 2013 problem was reported in EAST BERNSTADT, KY. Vehicle was not using ANTI-LOCK BRAKES. Vehicle was not using Cruise Control.

Apr 22, 2015

Engine Nissan 2013
Nissan
Location
Centreville, VA
Model Sentra
System Engine
Speed 60

While Driving The Vehicle, The Accelerator Pedal Can Suddenly Become Unresponsive, Causing The Vehicle To Lose Speed And The Engine To Slow Or Nearly Stall. This Happens Frequently When Driving, At All Speeds From A Standing Stop To Highway Speed. This Issue Sounds Very Similar To The Recall For 908,000 nissan Vehicles For Accelerator Pedal Problems In Early 2013. I Think That Recall Needs To Be Expanded To nissan Models Sold In The Usa. I Have Had The Car In For Service At My Local nissan Dealership Twice For This Issue So Far, And The Problem Has Not Been Corrected.

0 person(s) were injured. 0 person(s) died. Mileage was 18000 miles. Vehicle Identification Number (VIN):3N1AB7AP2DL. Nissan Sentra 2013 problem was reported in CENTREVILLE, VA. Vehicle was not using ANTI-LOCK BRAKES. Vehicle was not using Cruise Control. VEHICLE SPEED: 60 mph.

Feb 23, 2015

Engine Nissan 2013
Nissan
Location
Edinburg, TX
Model Sentra
System Engine
Speed 20

My Son Was Driving Thru A Intersection That Is When The Car Stalled Out. I Have Taken It To The Machanic And Been Told That There Is Nothing Wrong With The Car. Two Weeks Later The Same Thing Happened And Once Again Took It Back Into The Mechanic. I Just Got It Back And What Do You Know The Car Keeps Acting Like It Is Going To Stall Out. Don’t Get Me Wrong The People At The Mechanic Shop Are Nice. But After My Google Search Today I Am Glad I Just Hope That With These Issues Something Is Done Before Someone Gets Hurt. I Shouldn’t Be Scared That My Son Goes Places And I Have To Worry That He May Have A Car Accident.

Mileage was 36380 miles. Vehicle Identification Number (VIN):3N1AB7APXDL. Nissan Sentra 2013 problem was reported in EDINBURG, TX. Vehicle was not using ANTI-LOCK BRAKES. Vehicle was not using Cruise Control. VEHICLE SPEED: 20 mph.

Oct 05, 2015

Engine Nissan 2013
Nissan
Location
Pasadena, TX
Model Sentra
System Engine
Speed 65

With No Warning, The Vehicle Applies Brakes While In Cruise Control. Brake Lights On The Vehicle Remain Active Continuously After This. Once This Has Occurred, The Cruise Control Light Flashes And The Transmission Is Very Limited On Power At Intermittent Intervals. It Comes And It Goes Without Reason All The While The Brake Lights Remain Fully Illuminated. This Occurs While The Vehicle Is In Motion. It Tends To Be While Cruise Control Is Enabled, But It Has Occurred While Regularly Driving.

Mileage was 52000 miles. Vehicle Identification Number (VIN):3N1AB7AP0DL. Nissan Sentra 2013 problem was reported in PASADENA, TX. Vehicle was not using ANTI-LOCK BRAKES. Vehicle was not using Cruise Control. VEHICLE SPEED: 65 mph.

Nov 05, 2015

Engine Nissan 2013
Nissan
Location
Rochester, NY
Model Sentra
System Engine
Speed 0

Intelligent Key Fob Intermittent Start/stop Of Vehicle. Went To Start My Car After Dinner And It Would Not Start.no Activity When Pressing The Intelligent Key Fob. Stranded In A Parking Lot ,called My Spouse And Then He Came With A Spare Fob, Same Thing, No Start.turned Fob Around Per Owners Manual And Car Started But Key Warning Light Flashed All The Way Home. Read Manual And Made Sure All Caveats Were Not The Issue. Winter Weather Night Outside, Came Home And Pulled Car In The Garage, Waited An Hour And Tried To Start Car, No Problem Started Fine. Went Out Next Morning And Car Started Fine After Two Stops, At Third Stop Would Not Start Again. Used Procedure Suggested In Owners Manual And Car Started. Drove To Final Destination And No Key Warning Light Flashing. Went Online And Found Many Complaints Of Dealer Related Issues With Replacement Of A Steering Lock Switch To Cure Problem, (at A Cost Of Around 800 – 900 Dollars), At The Car Owners Expense. Found Some Other Info Online Suggesting There Is An Extended Warranty From Manufacturer On This Item. Have Not Yet Researched That Claim. Also Some Suggestions To Inform Nhtsa To Start A Recall Process For This As It Seems To Be Widespread With This Make And Other Models Of This Manufacturer. I Am Submitting This Complaint In The Hopes That Others Will Also And Get A Recall Issued For This. Will Contact A Local Dealer For More Info On Status Of Manufacturer. Twice In 24 Hrs Is Not A Coincidence. There Is An Issue With This System And It Should Be Looked Into By Nhtsa.

Mileage was 14000 miles. Vehicle Identification Number (VIN):3N1AB7AP1DL. Nissan Sentra 2013 problem was reported in ROCHESTER, NY. Vehicle was not using ANTI-LOCK BRAKES. Vehicle was not using Cruise Control. VEHICLE SPEED: 0 mph.

Dec 28, 2015

Engine Nissan 2013
Nissan
Location
Tamarac, FL
Model Sentra
System Engine
Speed

My Car Dose Not Accelerate Right Since A Month Ago. Car Went Dealer 3times. 1st Time , I Go To Dealer With Recall Letter About Cvt. Then Problem Still Do It. 3days Later,they Did Test Drive And Reprogram For Transmission,,,,, Still Had Problem. 2days Later ,again 3rd Time To Go Dealer. They Gave To Me Car With No Problem. That’s nissan Told Us. It Doesn’t Do Every Time,yet. But It Feels Old Car. I Could Not Go After Stop Light ,could Not Go Over 2000x While Running Sometimes. I Still Have Payment,too.they Should Change Car Or Change Something.

Vehicle Identification Number (VIN):3N1AB7AP8DL. Nissan Sentra 2013 problem was reported in TAMARAC, FL. Vehicle was not using ANTI-LOCK BRAKES. Vehicle was not using Cruise Control.

Jan 26, 2016

Engine Nissan 2013
Nissan
Location
Downey, CA
Model Sentra
System Engine
Speed 10

The Transmission On My Car Has Now Been Replace Twice, The Car Shakes, Jolts And Shut Off. Now For A Third Time While Driving On The Street The Car Shock Hard And The Transmission And Engine Fell. The Car Was Unmovable. It Was So Dangerous I Was In Morning Traffic And 3 Cars Almost Hit Me Because The Car Stop In The Middle Of The Street. Had To Get The Car Towed To The Dealership And Now Waiting To See With What Excuse The Come Out With. Car Always Shakes Since I Tog It New In 2013. *tr

Mileage was 58000 miles. Vehicle Identification Number (VIN):3N1AB7AP6DL. Nissan Sentra 2013 problem was reported in DOWNEY, CA. Vehicle was not using ANTI-LOCK BRAKES. Vehicle was not using Cruise Control. Vehicle had 4 CYLINDERS. Nissan Sentra 2013 drive type:FWD. FUEL TYPE: GAS. VEHICLE SPEED: 10 mph.

Oct 27, 2016

Engine Nissan 2013
Nissan
Location
Selma, AL
Model Sentra
System Engine
Speed

Purchased A 2013 nissan sentra With Around 45820 Miles On It.2 Weeks Later The Transmission Goes Out. They Replaced Because It Was Still Under Warranty.received It Back With Problems. Rpm Would Go Up Past 5 When Acceleraring Or Passing. Complained And Never Received A Call Back Was Told That Was Normal.. Problem Continues. Even Had A Supervisor Test Drive And Was Told Nothing Was Out Of Order.contact Corporate They Send Me To A New Dealer And Its Gears That Are Not Shifting Correctly. Solution Another Transmission This Time They Expect Me To Pay But They Are Willing To Pay Half.unacceptable For A Problem I Been Complaining About Since Receiving The Vehicle Back.obvious Defect In Transmission For Nisan Or In Mechanics That Work For Them

1 person(s) died. Mileage was 46000 miles. Vehicle Identification Number (VIN):3N1AB7AP2DL. Nissan Sentra 2013 problem was reported in SELMA, AL. Vehicle was not using ANTI-LOCK BRAKES. Vehicle was not using Cruise Control.

Nov 16, 2016

2013 Nissan Sentra problems and complaints, up-to-date recall information and reviews. If you are researching a used Nissan Sentra, driving a 2013 Nissan Sentra, or if you are planning to purchase one, review owner-reported NissanEngine problems and defects.

Post Author: nissanproblem

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>