2014 Nissan Altima Steering problems, defects and reviews. Updated December 20, 2016

Nissan Altima Steering problems and reviews: 15.

Are you driving a 2014 Nissan Altima, or planning to buy one? Review reported Steering problems and defects.

Steering Nissan 2014
Nissan
Location
Columbus, OH
Model Altima
System Steering
Speed 65

The New Electro Hydraulic Steering On 2013+ altimas Appears To Have A Faulty Software. It Does Not Appear To Be Vehicle Speed Sensitive/proportional At All! This Is Extremely Dangerous And Tiresome To Deal With. Normally, Power Steering Especially The Electrically Assisted Steering Will Employ Speed Sensitivity Which Will Make It Easier To Move The Wheel At Lower Speeds And Harder On Higher Speeds. This Is Necessary To Keep The Vehicle Steady And Corrected Instead Of Wandering And Needing To Be Overcorrected. A Correctly Functioning Electro Steering Should Therefore Make The Steering Tight At High Speeds > 60 Mph To Keep The Car Centered On The Road And Give Stability To The Ride. All altimas In This Generation Appear To Exhibit This Issue Including This Car Gurus Review – Http://www.cargurus.com/cars/2014-nissan-altima-overview-c24167. This Is A Must Recall Item. *tr

0 person(s) were injured. 0 person(s) died. Mileage was 100 miles. Vehicle Identification Number (VIN):1N4AL3AP4EC. Nissan Altima 2014 problem was reported in COLUMBUS, OH. Vehicle was not using ANTI-LOCK BRAKES. Vehicle was not using Cruise Control. Nissan Altima 2014 drive type:FWD. VEHICLE SPEED: 65 mph.

June 14, 2014

Steering Nissan 2014
Nissan
Location
Centereach, NY
Model Altima
System Steering
Speed 25

This Car Has Been In And Out Of The Several Different Dealerships For A Steering Wheel Finally On Dealership Is Trying To Help But They Want To Change The Steering Wheel! I’m At Awe! Nervous That This Lemon Is Becoming A Frankenstein Car !! nissan Quotes-the First Time You Try Heated Seats On A Cold Morning, You’ll Wonder How You Ever Did Without! They Quickly And Efficiently Warm Things Up For You And Your Passenger, And Your Hands Get The Same Luxurious Treatment From The Heated Steering Wheel. My Wife And I Had Other Cars With Heated Seats And Steering Wheel! nissan Heating Steering Wheel Only Gets Cool To Luke Warm! Problem Still Not Fixed As Of Today. *tr

0 person(s) were injured. 0 person(s) died. Mileage was 1500 miles. Vehicle Identification Number (VIN):1N4AL3AP5EC. Nissan Altima 2014 problem was reported in CENTEREACH, NY. Vehicle was not using ANTI-LOCK BRAKES. Vehicle was not using Cruise Control. VEHICLE SPEED: 25 mph.

Feb 07, 2014

Steering Nissan 2014
Nissan
Location
Centereach, NY
Model Altima
System Steering
Speed 25

After Several Dealerships Would Not Address A Heated Steering Wheel That Does Not Heat Up It Gets Luke Cool To Warm Only In Spots Around The Steering Wheel! As Per Finally One nissan Service Center The Service Mgr A Very Decent Person Tested It With A Wireless Thermometer Tried Very Hard To Get This Supposedly Heated Steering Wheel To Work Properly Replaced It With A New One But Still Does The Same Thing! Does Not Work Like nissan States In Brochure! This Is Unfair That I Have Over 20 Problems With This Car And nissan Will Not Do The Right Thing! I Feel My Health Declining Over A Car That Needs A Babysitter! *tr

0 person(s) were injured. 0 person(s) died. Mileage was 1851 miles. Vehicle Identification Number (VIN):1N4AL3AP5EC. Nissan Altima 2014 problem was reported in CENTEREACH, NY. Vehicle was not using ANTI-LOCK BRAKES. Vehicle was not using Cruise Control. Nissan Altima 2014 drive type:FWD. VEHICLE SPEED: 25 mph.

Feb 07, 2014

Steering Nissan 2014
Nissan
Location
Bucksport, ME
Model Altima
System Steering
Speed 0

Noticed That When Holding The Steering Wheel At The 9:00 And 3:00 Position And Pulling Straight Up There Was .25″ Of Up And Down Play In The Steering Column. The Dealer Replaced The Steering Column Under Warranty On 11/04/2014. Part # 48810-3ta1b, Column Steering-tilt. *tr

0 person(s) were injured. 0 person(s) died. Mileage was 8000 miles. Vehicle Identification Number (VIN):1N4AL3AP1EN. Nissan Altima 2014 problem was reported in BUCKSPORT, ME. Vehicle was not using ANTI-LOCK BRAKES. Vehicle was not using Cruise Control. Nissan Altima 2014 drive type:FWD. VEHICLE SPEED: 0 mph.

Oct 01, 2014

Steering Nissan 2014
Nissan
Location
Girard, IL
Model Altima
System Steering
Speed 50

The Steering Of The Car Is Erratic. At Times It’s Fine And Other Times The Car Skates All Over The Place. Causing A Dangerous Situation With Having To Constantly Over Steer. I Feel Like If There Was A Cop Behind Me I Would Be Pulled Over And Checked For Dui. *tr

0 person(s) were injured. 0 person(s) died. Mileage was 2000 miles. Nissan Altima 2014 problem was reported in GIRARD, IL. Vehicle was not using ANTI-LOCK BRAKES. Vehicle was not using Cruise Control. VEHICLE SPEED: 50 mph.

Sept 12, 2014

Steering Nissan 2014
Nissan
Location
Girard, IL
Model Altima
System Steering
Speed 30

Heated Steering Wheel Is A Joke. Hardly Does A Thing. I Have More Luck Rubbing My Hands Together. *tr

0 person(s) were injured. 0 person(s) died. Mileage was 5000 miles. Nissan Altima 2014 problem was reported in GIRARD, IL. Vehicle was not using ANTI-LOCK BRAKES. Vehicle was not using Cruise Control. VEHICLE SPEED: 30 mph.

Nov 03, 2014

Steering Nissan 2014
Nissan
Location
Rocky Mount, NC
Model Altima
System Steering
Speed 45

I Purchased The Vehicle And Right Away I Noticed That The Steering Was Not Right. The Car Either Goes Left Or Right Will Not Stay Straight. This Is A Very Dangerous Situation Because You Can Not Take Your Eyes Off The Road For A Second. This Is The Worst Driving Car I Have Ever Driven. The Dealership Says It Is Just The New Steering System And You Have To Get Use To It. This Is A Real Problem And Needs To Be Fixed. This Will Cause Accidents. Hopefully nissan Recognizes This Quickly And Comes Up With A Fix. I Will Not Buy Another nissan Product. I Avoid Driving The Car When Possible. *tr

0 person(s) were injured. 0 person(s) died. Mileage was 20 miles. Vehicle Identification Number (VIN):1N4AL3AP0EC. Nissan Altima 2014 problem was reported in ROCKY MOUNT, NC. Vehicle was not using ANTI-LOCK BRAKES. Vehicle was not using Cruise Control. Nissan Altima 2014 drive type:FWD. VEHICLE SPEED: 45 mph.

June 04, 2014

Steering Nissan 2014
Nissan
Location
Tigard, OR
Model Altima
System Steering
Speed 60

Driving At Speeds Higher Than 50mph Constant Steer Corrections Need To Be Done In Order To Keep The Car Safely Between Lanes. The Car Moves Left And Right And Cannot Keep A Straight Line Without Constantly Needing To Correct The Steering. This Is On Calm Weather Today 3/10/2015, Outside Temperature 49 Degrees, Wind Speed 2 Mph For Woodburn, Or Area According To Weather.com. Even If There Is No Wind, The Car Feels Like There Are Cross Winds. This Can Be A Very Dangerous Problem And Complains From Other Owners Are All Over The Internet Including At The Dealer’s Service Centers. I Am Worried About Higher Wind Speeds And How Dangerous That Can Be With A Car That Cannot Keep A Straight Line Due To The Fact That It Has A Electric Steering Assist That Doesn’t Feel Like It Is Speed Sensitive. It Is Dangerous As Unexpected Lane Swerving Can Cause Major Accidents At Higher Speeds. Something Needs To Be Done To Correct The Steering Assist And Offer A More Smoother Ride And A Better Handling Experience On Highways. The Dealer Service Centers Can’t Do Anything To Correct The Problem And Are Telling You To Deal With It And Learn How To Drive The Car. *tr

0 person(s) were injured. 0 person(s) died. Mileage was 7533 miles. Vehicle Identification Number (VIN):1N4AL3AP4EC. Nissan Altima 2014 problem was reported in TIGARD, OR. Vehicle was not using ANTI-LOCK BRAKES. Vehicle was not using Cruise Control. Nissan Altima 2014 drive type:FWD. VEHICLE SPEED: 60 mph.

Mar 10, 2015

Steering Nissan 2014
Nissan
Location
Greensburg, PA
Model Altima
System Steering
Speed 0

Purchased 2014 altima S 9-1-14. Right Away Hear Whining Noise From Steering Area And Under Hood. As Of April 2015 Only Have 1200 Miles But Have Not Taken To Dealer. Other Problems Have Been, Splashing Noise From Fuel Tank, Wind Noise Coming From Passnger Side Window, Very Difficult To Keep Vehicle From Wandering On Highway From Side To Side. Thought It Was Just Me But Reading Similar Reviews I Now Know There Is A Problem With The nissan altima. *tr

0 person(s) were injured. 0 person(s) died. Mileage was 200 miles. Vehicle Identification Number (VIN):1N4AL3AP5EN. Nissan Altima 2014 problem was reported in GREENSBURG, PA. Vehicle was not using ANTI-LOCK BRAKES. Vehicle was not using Cruise Control. Nissan Altima 2014 drive type:FWD. VEHICLE SPEED: 0 mph.

Sept 10, 2014

Steering Nissan 2014
Nissan
Location
Rockmart, GA
Model Altima
System Steering
Speed 55

Car Will Not Stay In Lane At Highway Speed It Wanders Back And Forth You Have To Constantly Correct To Stay In Your Lane . Almost Went Under Semi Truck Trailer .air Bag Light Also Comes On Saying No One Is In Passenger Seat When My Wife Is Setting There .been To Dealer On Recall 2 Times On This Already

0 person(s) were injured. 0 person(s) died. Mileage was 100 miles. Vehicle Identification Number (VIN):1N4AL3AP8EC. Nissan Altima 2014 problem was reported in ROCKMART, GA. Vehicle was not using ANTI-LOCK BRAKES. Vehicle was not using Cruise Control. VEHICLE SPEED: 55 mph.

Nov 13, 2013

Steering Nissan 2014
Nissan
Location
Hopkins, MN
Model Altima
System Steering
Speed 55

Started Noticing This Problem In The First Week Of Purchase. Car Needs To Be Constantly Corrected To Stay Inside The Lane Even When Driving Straight, And The Steering Becomes To Taut When I Try To Correct It, Like Its Being Pulled Away From Dead-centre. I Almost Ran Into Cars In The Other Lane, Was Honked At Multiple Times.. Now I Am Extremely Careful And Drive With Both Hands On The Steering Constantly Adjusting To Stay Inside The Lane. A Friend Who Was Following Me Last Weekend Said I Was Weaving So Much That It Looked Like Some Drunk Was Driving The Car!! The Steering Issue Has To Be Fixed Before It Caused Any Fatalities.

0 person(s) were injured. 0 person(s) died. Mileage was 39200 miles. Nissan Altima 2014 problem was reported in HOPKINS, MN. Vehicle was not using ANTI-LOCK BRAKES. Vehicle was not using Cruise Control. VEHICLE SPEED: 55 mph.

June 27, 2015

Steering Nissan 2014
Nissan
Location
Cypress, TX
Model Altima
System Steering
Speed 20

I Purchased A Brand New 2014 nissan altima Sv From Baker nissan North In Houston, Texas (19630 Northwest Fwy, Houston, Tx 77065 (281) 890-5656). My Transmission Has Failed Twice (replaced The First Time And Now Having To Be Replaced Again) And I Have Been Getting The Run Around From The Dealership. This Issue Should Not Be Occurring With A Brand New Vehicle. Then To Top It Off I Have Been A Loyal Customer And Have Purchased A Total Of Four Cars From This Dealership Now. I Filed A Consumer Affairs Report With nissan Corporation And Have Yet To Hear Something. I Also Called The Dealership Again To Speak With Someone In Charge Such As The General Manager And They Informed Me To Contact The Consumers Affairs Department With nissan Corporation. They Said They Have A Chain Of Command To Follow And That Would Be My Best Bet Of Getting The Situation Resolved. I Would Like This Situation To Be Investigated And Justice. I Do Not Spend My Hard Earned Money To Have A Car That Is Not Operating Properly And Could Put My Life And Others In Danger. It Comes Down To The Fact That This Car Is A Lemon And I Should Be Given Brand New Transportation Or The Dealership Should Purchase The Car And Pay Off The Loan And Let Me Take My Business Elsewhere……. I Also Have Copies Of My Maintenance Records For Documentation Purposes…..thank You In Advance For Your Time And Effort. I Look Forward To Hearing From You Soon. *tr..updated 11/05/15 *bf The Consumer Also Stated The Ac Was Blowing Out Hot Air, Then Cool Air And The Steering Wheel Was Hard To Turn. Updated 11/25/15.*jb

0 person(s) were injured. 0 person(s) died. Mileage was 12608 miles. Vehicle Identification Number (VIN):1N4AL3AP4EN. Nissan Altima 2014 problem was reported in CYPRESS, TX. Original Owner. Vehicle was not using ANTI-LOCK BRAKES. Vehicle was not using Cruise Control. Nissan Altima 2014 drive type:FWD. FUEL SYSTEM:Fuel injection. VEHICLE SPEED: 20 mph. DEALER’S NAME: BAKER Nissan . DEALER’S TELEPHONE NUMBER: 281-890-5656 . DEALER’S CITY: HOUSTON . DEALER’S STATE CODE: TX. DEALER’S ZIPCODE: 77065 .

June 12, 2014

Steering Nissan 2014
Nissan
Location
Peculiar, MO
Model Altima
System Steering
Speed

My Car Has Approximately 27,500 Miles. About Three Months Ago I Began Having A Hard Time Keeping The Car In My Lane Of Traffic. The Car Was Pulling Hard To The Left, Requiring Me To Steer To The Right (approximately To A 1 O’clock Position). I Believed This To Be An Alignment Issue And Had A Large Chain Repair Shop Complete An Alignment. The Steering Issue Was Not Resolved. I Then Took The Car To My Dealership And They Advised That It Was Out Of Alignment And They Had Fixed The Issues With An Alignment (i Have Not Paid $250 In Alignment Charges). After A Few Days Of Driving It, The Car Is Still Pulling To The Left. I Have Tried Driving In All Lanes Of Traffic And Been Sensitive To The Grade Of The Road…however, My Car Will Pull To The Left In Any Situation. In Most Cases, It Takes Quite A Bit Of Pressure Steering To The Right, To Keep The Car Driving Straight-ahead. When I Called The Dealership To Advise Them The Repair Was Not Correct, They Said They Had Two Techs Drive It And It Was Fine – I Would Need To Return To The Dealership And Drive The Car With Them To Diagnose. I Don’t Feel That I Should Have To Spend Additional Time With The Service Department To Find A Repair For My Vehicle. I Made A Report With nissan Customer Affairs. In My Experience With nissan, These Are The Steps That Are Needed To Get A Solution To Any Safety Issues.

Vehicle Identification Number (VIN):1N4AL3AP4EN. Nissan Altima 2014 problem was reported in PECULIAR, MO. Vehicle was not using ANTI-LOCK BRAKES. Vehicle was not using Cruise Control.

Nov 23, 2015

Steering Nissan 2014
Nissan
Location
Warminster, PA
Model Altima
System Steering
Speed 0

I Keep Getting A Key Id Incorrect Or Key Id Undetectable When I Try To Start The Car. I Have Replaced The Battery In The Key Fob And The Same Issues Arise. I Have To Open And Close The Car Door At Least 10 Times Before I Can Get The Car To Start. This Could Be A Safety Hazard As I Might Get Stranded Somewhere If I Shut The Car Off And It Doesn’t Start. I Am Getting Really Tired Of This Issue And Hopefully A Recall Or Some Type Of Fix Will Come From nissan. This Issues Always Happens When The Vehicle Is In Park And You Try To Start The Vehicle.

Mileage was 58000 miles. Vehicle Identification Number (VIN):1N4AL3AP1EN. Nissan Altima 2014 problem was reported in WARMINSTER, PA. Vehicle was not using ANTI-LOCK BRAKES. Vehicle was not using Cruise Control. VEHICLE SPEED: 0 mph.

Mar 01, 2016

Steering Nissan 2014
Nissan
Location
Napa, CA
Model Altima
System Steering
Speed 60

My Car Has Approximately 43,000 Miles.i’m Having A Hard Time Keeping The Car In My Lane Of Traffic. The Car Was Pulling Hard To The Left, Requiring Me To Steer To The Right .. Car Needs To Be Constantly Corrected To Stay Inside The Lane Even When Driving Straigh. If You Are In A Crosswind Or Behind A Truck, The Vehicle Drifts Horribly Too. You Must Have A Good Handle On The Steering Wheel To Keep Correcting To Stay In Your Lane! I Took My Car To Do An Alignment Two Times And Still The Same I Change Tires And Rims Did Not Fix The Problem There Is Alot Of Complains On The Internet With The Same Problem.

Mileage was 60 miles. Vehicle Identification Number (VIN):1N4AL3AP1EC. Nissan Altima 2014 problem was reported in NAPA, CA. Vehicle was not using ANTI-LOCK BRAKES. Vehicle was not using Cruise Control. VEHICLE SPEED: 60 mph.

May 28, 2016

2014 Nissan Altima problems and complaints, up-to-date recall information and reviews. If you are researching a used Nissan Altima, driving a 2014 Nissan Altima, or if you are planning to purchase one, review owner-reported NissanSteering problems and defects.

Post Author: nissanproblem

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>