2015 Nissan Leaf Service Brakes problems, defects and reviews. Updated December 20, 2016

Nissan Leaf Service Brakes problems and reviews: 16.

Are you driving a 2015 Nissan Leaf, or planning to buy one? Review reported Service Brakes problems and defects.

Service Brakes Nissan 2015
Nissan
Location
Haiku, HI
Model Leaf
System Service Brakes
Speed 25

My 2015 leaf S Is 3 Weeks Old With Less Than 700 Miles. I Was Descending An 8% Grade Hill In B Mode With A Sharp Bend At The Bottom. As I Went To Apply The Brakes, The Pedal Went To The Floor And B Mode Cut Out. The Car Was Now Rolling Down The Hill And Accelerating Under Gravity With No Brakes And Without B Mode Slowing The Car. I Was Expecting To Hit A Brick Wall At The Bottom Of The Hill When Suddenly, After No More Than Two Seconds, The Brakes And B Mode Came Back On And I Safely Stopped. On Reflection After The Incident, It Was As If The Whole Computer/electronics Momentarily Shut Down And Then Rebooted. I Didn’t Notice If The Dash Lights Went Off Or Not. *tr

0 person(s) were injured. 0 person(s) died. Mileage was 700 miles. Vehicle Identification Number (VIN):1N4AZ0CP4FC. Nissan Leaf 2015 problem was reported in HAIKU, HI. Vehicle was not using ANTI-LOCK BRAKES. Vehicle was not using Cruise Control. Nissan Leaf 2015 drive type:FWD. VEHICLE SPEED: 25 mph.

Jan 20, 2015

Service Brakes Nissan 2015
Nissan
Location
Norcross, GA
Model Leaf
System Service Brakes
Speed 5

Brake Failure. Car Barely Stopped When Backing Out Of Garage. System Designed To Maintain Brakes In Case Of Electrical Failure Did Not Function. Car Was Towed To Dealer Where Problem Was Duplicated But No Cause Was Identified. Still Not Repaired As Of 2/18/15 Because Brakes Started Working Again At Dealer. When Failure Occurred, Traction Control Warning Light And Abs Light Came On. Car Had Been To Dealer The Week Before For “grabbing” Extremely Sensitive, But Transient, Brake Problem. No Problem Could Be Identified.

0 person(s) were injured. 0 person(s) died. Mileage was 9000 miles. Vehicle Identification Number (VIN):1N4AZ0CP6FC. Nissan Leaf 2015 problem was reported in NORCROSS, GA. Vehicle was not using ANTI-LOCK BRAKES. Vehicle was not using Cruise Control. Nissan Leaf 2015 drive type:FWD. VEHICLE SPEED: 5 mph.

Feb 13, 2015

Service Brakes Nissan 2015
Nissan
Location
Greenville, SC
Model Leaf
System Service Brakes
Speed 25

The Brakes Did Not Respond As Normal On A Cold Snowy Day. The Tires Did Not Slide And It Was Not A Hard Braking Situation. Multiple Times Throughout The Day, The Brakes Were Not Engaging Properly. The Condition Went Away The Next Day; A Warmer Day. It Happened Again 2 Weeks Later And I Can Now Recognize The Problem And Be Cautious.

0 person(s) were injured. 0 person(s) died. Mileage was 2025 miles. Vehicle Identification Number (VIN):1N4AZ0CPXFC. Nissan Leaf 2015 problem was reported in GREENVILLE, SC. Vehicle was not using ANTI-LOCK BRAKES. Vehicle was not using Cruise Control. VEHICLE SPEED: 25 mph.

Feb 13, 2015

Service Brakes Nissan 2015
Nissan
Location
Los Angeles, CA
Model Leaf
System Service Brakes
Speed 3

Whenever We Come To A Stop For A Traffic Light Or A Stop Sign, And The Speed Of The Car Is < 3 Miles , We Noticed That When We Apply Brakes, They Do Not Get Applied Immediately. There Is A Sudden Surge In Acceleration Before The Car Comes To A Complete Stop. This Is Very Noticeable Especially When We Apply Brakes To Slow The Car Before A Traffic Signal Or Stop Sign And Also In Bumper To Bumper Traffic Conditions. As A Result, We Tend To Stop The Car Atleast Couple Of Meters Before The Stop Line Or The Car In Front To Buffer The Acceleration By The Car. Thank You *tr

0 person(s) were injured. 0 person(s) died. Mileage was 4000 miles. Vehicle Identification Number (VIN):1N4AZ0CP1FC. Nissan Leaf 2015 problem was reported in LOS ANGELES, CA. Vehicle was not using ANTI-LOCK BRAKES. Vehicle was not using Cruise Control. Nissan Leaf 2015 drive type:FWD. VEHICLE SPEED: 3 mph.

Mar 16, 2015

Service Brakes Nissan 2015
Nissan
Location
Acworth, GA
Model Leaf
System Service Brakes
Speed 5

As I Turned Into A Parallel Parking Spot And Applied The Brakes, The Brakes Went To The Floor And The Car Never Slowed. My Car Hit The Parked Car In Front Of Me.

Vehicle was involved in a crash. 0 person(s) were injured. 0 person(s) died. Mileage was 8910 miles. Vehicle Identification Number (VIN):1N4AZ0CP6FC. Nissan Leaf 2015 problem was reported in ACWORTH, GA. Vehicle was not using ANTI-LOCK BRAKES. Vehicle was not using Cruise Control. VEHICLE SPEED: 5 mph.

Aug 23, 2015

Service Brakes Nissan 2015
Nissan
Location
Topeka, KS
Model Leaf
System Service Brakes
Speed 40

Lost Power And Coast To A Stop And Then Started Up Over 12 Times In A 2 Day Period New Car Had To Turn Rotors Should Have Been Replaced

Mileage was 116 miles. Vehicle Identification Number (VIN):1N4AZ0CP4FC. Nissan Leaf 2015 problem was reported in TOPEKA, KS. Vehicle was not using ANTI-LOCK BRAKES. Vehicle was not using Cruise Control. VEHICLE SPEED: 40 mph.

Oct 13, 2015

Service Brakes Nissan 2015
Nissan
Location
Chico, CA
Model Leaf
System Service Brakes
Speed 5

Upon Backing Out Of My Garage, I Found That The Brakes Did Not Work. I Was Only Able To Stop The Car By Applying The Parking Brake. Note That I Had The Car serviced On 11/11/2015, And One Of The service Items Was “p5327 – leaf Electric Brke Ntb15-089… …7594 Reprogram Electrically-driven Intelligent Brake Control Unit… …perform Campaign P5327, Ecm Part #46007-3nf9b”

Mileage was 7702 miles. Vehicle Identification Number (VIN):1N4AZ0CP0FC. Nissan Leaf 2015 problem was reported in CHICO, CA. Vehicle was not using ANTI-LOCK BRAKES. Vehicle was not using Cruise Control. VEHICLE SPEED: 5 mph.

Nov 15, 2015

Service Brakes Nissan 2015
Nissan
Location
Walnut, CA
Model Leaf
System Service Brakes
Speed

It Was Early Morning Of Nov 13 Friday Around 5:30 Am, I Was About To Leave The House To Work. I Backed Up The Car About 10-15 Ft Away From Original Parking Position And Stopped Because I Forgot Something In The House. At That Time My Foot Was Still On Break Pedal However, As Soon As I Changed To Drive Mode, The Car Move Forward Quickly Even Though My Foot Was On The Break Pedal. I Pressed Harder On The Pedal To Stopped The Car Unfortunately, The Car Immediately Hit The Filing Cabinet, Shoe Rack And Penetrated The House Wall. It Was A Terrifying Experience For Me. My Husband Arrived Home Couple Of Hours Later. He Assessed The Car And Came Into Conclusion That The Break Pedal Is Totally Reaching The Floor. We Immediately Notified Our Insurance Company On The Same Day.

Vehicle was involved in a crash. Mileage was 15786 miles. Vehicle Identification Number (VIN):1N4AZ0CP5FC. Nissan Leaf 2015 problem was reported in WALNUT, CA. Vehicle was not using ANTI-LOCK BRAKES. Vehicle was not using Cruise Control.

Nov 13, 2015

Service Brakes Nissan 2015
Nissan
Location
Morrison, CO
Model Leaf
System Service Brakes
Speed 55

Purchased A Brand New 2015 nissan leaf On September 12th, 2015 3 Weeks Later On Oct 5th, 2015 Brakes Failed On This Brand New Car While Driving In Traffic On The Freeway. As A Result I Ended Up Hitting A Truck In The Rear End At 55 Mph. Inuries Sustained In The Accident And 2015 nissan leaf Was Totaled. I Called This Into nissan And Was Told There Was A service Notice For This Car For Brake Failure. This Was Never Disclosed To Me And The Dealer Had Not Performed This service Work On The Car Prior To Selling It To Us. Please Report And Have All Brake Issues With The 2015 nissan leaf Investigated.

Vehicle was involved in a crash. 1 person(s) were injured. Mileage was 1200 miles. Vehicle Identification Number (VIN):1N4AZ0CP3FC. Nissan Leaf 2015 problem was reported in MORRISON, CO. Accident was reported to Police. Vehicle was not using ANTI-LOCK BRAKES. Vehicle was not using Cruise Control. VEHICLE SPEED: 55 mph.

Oct 05, 2015

Service Brakes Nissan 2015
Nissan
Location
Marietta, GA
Model Leaf
System Service Brakes
Speed 5

The Contact Owns A 2015 nissan leaf. The Contact Stated That While Driving At 5 Mph And Attempting To Park, The Brake Pedal Was Depressed And Traveled To The Floorboard Causing The Contact To Crash Into A Brick Wall. The Brakes Failed To Respond. A Police Report Was Not Filed And There Were No Injuries Sustained. The Vehicle Was Taken To The Dealer Where It Was To Be Diagnosed And Repaired. The Manufacturer Was Made Aware Of The Failure. The Failure Mileage Was 3,000. ..updated 01/13/16 *bf

Vehicle was involved in a crash. Mileage was 3000 miles. Vehicle Identification Number (VIN):1N4AZ0CP7FC. Nissan Leaf 2015 problem was reported in MARIETTA, GA. Vehicle was not using ANTI-LOCK BRAKES. Vehicle was not using Cruise Control. VEHICLE SPEED: 5 mph.

Nov 07, 2015

Service Brakes Nissan 2015
Nissan
Location
Brighton, CO
Model Leaf
System Service Brakes
Speed 35

The Contact Owns A 2015 nissan leaf. While Driving 35 Mph And Attempting To Park, The Brake Pedal Was Depressed And Traveled To The Floorboard. The Brakes Failed To Respond After The Abs Warning Lights Illuminated. The Vehicle Was Taken To The Dealer Where It Was Diagnosed That The Brake Sensors Needed To Be Replaced. The Manufacturer Was Made Aware Of The Failure. The Failure Mileage Was 6,200. The Vin Was Not Available.

Mileage was 6200 miles. Nissan Leaf 2015 problem was reported in BRIGHTON, CO. Vehicle was not using ANTI-LOCK BRAKES. Vehicle was not using Cruise Control. VEHICLE SPEED: 35 mph.

Dec 04, 2015

Service Brakes Nissan 2015
Nissan
Location
Redwood City, CA
Model Leaf
System Service Brakes
Speed 5

I’ve Only Had The Car For 2 Months, And The Brakes Have Failed Repeatedly, Once About Every 5 Days On Average. Every Time They Have Failed, It Was When I Start Up The Car, And Put It In Either Forward Or Reverse. I Usually Pull Forward Into A Parking Spot, So I Go In Reverse Much More Frequently After Starting Up, But It Has Happened When Going Forward Too. This Is The Failure Mode. I Start The Car, While Holding Down The Brake Pedal, And Then I Put It In Reverse. At That Point The Car Starts Rolling Backwards, Even Though I’m Still Holding Down The Brake Pedal. The Brake Pedal Gets Soft And When I Floor The Brake Pedal, The Car Finally Slows Down And Stops. Another Way To Stop It Is To Put It Back In Park, But That Causes It To Jerk To A Halt. Needless To Say, This Is A Scary Scenario, And This Frequently Happens At My Kids’ School, Where There Are Many Kids And Parents Walking Through The Parking Lot. In Addition, The Car Also Has Some Other Problems. It Sometimes Starts A Long Uninterrupted Beep When I Turn Off The Car To Get Out. The Beep Goes On For Minutes, And Sometimes I See A Warning Light On The Dashboard. Finally, The Card Completely Stopped Working Today. An Error Message Of “t/m System Malfunction” Appeared On The Dashboard, And I Was Not Even Able To Put The Car Into Neutral For The Tow Truck. The Driver Window Did Not Work Anymore. After Attaching A Battery Charger To The 12v Battery, I Was Able To Put It Into Neutral, But Not Able To Put It In Reverse Or Drive, Or Even Back In Park. The Car Had More Than Half Of Its Battery Cells Full, So The Problem Was Not Because It Ran Out Of Charge.

Mileage was 1500 miles. Vehicle Identification Number (VIN):1N4AZ0CP7FC. Nissan Leaf 2015 problem was reported in REDWOOD CITY, CA. Vehicle was not using ANTI-LOCK BRAKES. Vehicle was not using Cruise Control. VEHICLE SPEED: 5 mph.

Jan 31, 2016

Service Brakes Nissan 2015
Nissan
Location
San Diego, CA
Model Leaf
System Service Brakes
Speed 5

Brakes Failed Upon Starting The Car, Though I Didn’t Know It When I Began To Drive The Car. I Had Several Error Lights Come On, But I Couldn’t Figure Out What The Error Was, But Then Figure Out As Soon As Put The Car In Reverse. I Couldn’t Stop Using The Brakes And Only Got Myself To Stop By Using The Emergency Brake. I Was Backing Out Of A Parking Spot Onto A City Street, But Fortunately There Were No Cars Parked Behind Me Or Any Moving Cars On The Street. I Also Attempted To Drive Forward, Albeit Very Carefully, Assuming It Was A Strange One-time Occurrence. But The Brakes Simply Did Not Work. Upon Inspecting And Repairing The Car (after Being Towed To A nissan Delership) nissan Informed Me That The Abs Brake Controller Failed.

Mileage was 11000 miles. Vehicle Identification Number (VIN):1N4AZ0CPXFC. Nissan Leaf 2015 problem was reported in SAN DIEGO, CA. Vehicle was not using ANTI-LOCK BRAKES. Vehicle was not using Cruise Control. VEHICLE SPEED: 5 mph.

Jan 29, 2016

Service Brakes Nissan 2015
Nissan
Location
Norcross, GA
Model Leaf
System Service Brakes
Speed 25

I Was Driving Down A Busy Street At Approximately 25 Mile Per Hour. I Pressed The Brake Pedal To Slow Down For A Stop Light. The Pedal Went All The Way To The Floor And The Car Did Not Slow Down. I Tried To Put The Car Into “b” Mode To Slow It Down And That Did Not Have Any Effect (normally It Would Slow The Car Down Through Regenerative Braking). I Then Continued To Drive The Car Slowly (15-20mph) For ~ 3 More Minutes Until I Was In A Safe Place To Pull Off The Road. I Pressed The Brake Pedal Again And It Felt “normal” (pedal Did Not Go All The Way To The Floor) And The Brakes Operated Normally. I Called nissan Customer service And They Opened A Case Number, Told Me To Either Call Roadside Assistance, Or If I Feel Comfortable, Drive The Car To A leaf-certified Dealership. This Was A Very Dangerous Situation That Could Have Had A Tragic Ending. Since I Did Not (luckily) Get Into An Accident, The nissan Representative Did Not Seem Too Worried About It. I Was Extremely Disappointed In Her Reaction. This Is An Incredibly Serious Safety-related Issue That The Company Should Investigate.

Mileage was 12000 miles. Vehicle Identification Number (VIN):1N4AZ0CP4FC. Nissan Leaf 2015 problem was reported in NORCROSS, GA. Vehicle was not using ANTI-LOCK BRAKES. Vehicle was not using Cruise Control. VEHICLE SPEED: 25 mph.

Apr 12, 2016

Service Brakes Nissan 2015
Nissan
Location
Kaysville, UT
Model Leaf
System Service Brakes
Speed 20

The Contact Owns A 2015 nissan leaf. The Contact Stated That The Brakes Failed To Function While Driving 20 Mph. The Failure Occurred Without Warning. The Vehicle Was Taken To The Dealer Where It Was Diagnosed That There Was A Software Malfunction With The Abs. The Vehicle Was Repaired. The Manufacturer Was Notified Of The Failure. The Failure Mileage Was Approximately 23,000.

Mileage was 23000 miles. Vehicle Identification Number (VIN):1N4AZ0CP4F0. Nissan Leaf 2015 problem was reported in KAYSVILLE, UT. Vehicle was not using ANTI-LOCK BRAKES. Vehicle was not using Cruise Control. VEHICLE SPEED: 20 mph.

Sept 23, 2016

Service Brakes Nissan 2015
Nissan
Location
Austin, TX
Model Leaf
System Service Brakes
Speed 1

Brake Recall Issue Nhtsa Campaign Number: 16v119000 I Have Been To The Dealership Three Times To Get This Fixed, But Every Time The Dealership Comes Back And Says That They Could Not Reproduce It So It Is Fixed. But Every Time I Park In The Garage At My Work Place Or Park Overnight Outdoors, I Run Into This Problem Where The Exclamation Icon Would Light Up And The Brakes Would Malfunction Where I Have To Press Harder For The Brakes To Apply. The Workaround I Follow Is – Pressing And Releasing Brake Pedal Will Make The Exclamation Icon Turn Off And The Brakes Would Function Normally. I Have Had Atleast Two Instances Where The Car Will Start Moving Even With My Foot On The Brake. I Was Very Close To Running Into Another Car Two Times! I Live In Austin Tx And These Incidents Happened During Summertime When The Temperatures Were Above 70f. *tr

Mileage was 19100 miles. Vehicle Identification Number (VIN):1N4AZ0CP7FC. Nissan Leaf 2015 problem was reported in AUSTIN, TX. Vehicle was not using ANTI-LOCK BRAKES. Vehicle was not using Cruise Control. Nissan Leaf 2015 drive type:FWD. FUEL TYPE: HYBRID ELECTRIC. VEHICLE SPEED: 1 mph.

Oct 15, 2016

2015 Nissan Leaf problems and complaints, up-to-date recall information and reviews. If you are researching a used Nissan Leaf, driving a 2015 Nissan Leaf, or if you are planning to purchase one, review owner-reported NissanService Brakes problems and defects.

Post Author: nissanproblem

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>